Do we need religion to make good decisions?

In response to an article I read earlier;

I don’t think you need religion to make good decisions, if you can’t make good decisions on your own, without religion then you have no head of your own. Also, I don’t think religion helps make good decisions, I highly doubt 9/11 was a good decision, nor the crusades.

I’m an Atheist (like the person who wrote the article) and I make fine decisions on my own, no religion telling me what’s right and wrong, I know what’s right and what’s wrong, it’s common sense. I don’t need a religion to tell me not to murder people.

I think I follow Christian values better than many Christians do.

I think this is a really good point and I’d think so to.

Without religion I could do what I want without worrying if I’m pleasing Jesus or God.

What do you guys think? Does religion influence the decisions you make?

If you enjoyed this post remember to;

Subscribe in a reader

10 Responses

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI don’t think you need religion to make good decisions, if you can’t make good decisions on your own, without religion then you have no head of your own. Also, I don’t think religion helps make good decisions, I highly doubt 9/11 was a … […]

  2. no we don’t need religion. religion will only make us crazy.

  3. Crazy like a fox, right :P?
    Any reason why you think we don’t need it?

  4. Societal norms are what one bases their decisions/actions on.

    The standards of a religion do influence the decisions of religious people though, or if not influence at least provide a convenient excuse for those decisions.

  5. It depends on what you mean by “religion”. If you mean a written set of rules or an organized church with a directly-stated set of doctrines, I would say no. But Christians believe (the Bible says) that God’s laws are written on the human heart. So, to say that one doesn’t need “religion” to make good decisions isn’t necessarily to say that good decisions don’t depend on God.

  6. i’m an atheist too, and religion doesn’t influence my daily decisions that much. there are times when i may recall a lesson i have learned from a religious story, but i don’t think about what god would ask me to do. i, too, also think i act more “christian” at times than most christians i know.

  7. Actually, Christianity is all about making decisions.

    It’s easier to explain with a video:

  8. But do we NEED religion to make good decisions is what I’m asking? You said if we make the wrong choice then we were deluded by thinking it was the right choice but same goes for you Christians, are you saying you guys never make bad choices? Please!

    By the way, Atheists have no religion. Atheism is a belief.

    I stopped watching half way threw, you camera is annoying.

  9. Atheism is a belief.

    What you believe in is your religion.

    But do we NEED religion to make good decisions is what I’m asking?

    The video answers the question.

    You don’t want to watch it?

    Your decision.

    of course.

    You must think it’s a good decision.

    Not finding the answer.

  10. Totally agreed thinking similarly and put that on paper as below link content

Leave a Reply

