When did you know you were Atheist?

For me, I’d have to say I knew I was an Atheist 2 to 3 years ago, when I was around 14 years old. I never really believed in a higher power but I knew for certain I was Atheist then. It didn’t seem rational, if I didn’t believe in Santa, the tooth fairy, or the easter bunny, why believe in an additional invisible being?

My mom believes in God, we went to church when I was younger (I had no choice) but I was never interested, even at a younger age. All I could think about is why am I spending my Sunday doing something I don’t want to do? Instead I could have been outside with my friends, doing something I actually enjoyed.

When did you know you were an Atheist? If you’re a believer in something, when did you know you believed? Please keep it civilized.

If you enjoyed this post remember to;

Subscribe in a reader

20 Responses

  1. I began the transition to atheism when I was about 11 (5th
    grade) when I was attending CCD (some after school religious
    instruction). It was while we had to go to confession,
    I recall my brother and his friends were talking about making
    things up to confess because they were confused (really, what
    does a *child* have to *confess*). Anyhow, at that point I
    implicitly felt something was wrong and asked my parents to
    allow me to drop out of CCD. They allowed me and although
    I had always read about different religions later in life I was
    clearly atheist by high-school.

  2. Thank you for your input.

    I agree, normal children don’t have much to confess unless they want to confess that they ripped the head off their sisters Malibu Barbie doll, but I doubt that gets them a ticket to hell.

  3. I became Atheist during my college years. I had been brought up in a Catholic household going to a Catholic grade-school for 9years. In high school I did all the mission trips to foreign countries and all those religious retreats. I think the fun I had during those events is what kept me in it for so long. More than the acts I was doing or the lessons I was learning, I enjoyed hanging out with my friends (who also seemed like they went to these things to have a good time).

    In college all those fun trips vanished, and with it went my faith. I woke up one day and started thinking about all the things that many of these religions stood for that I thought was wrong. Then I started analyzing the core of what they were built upon – some higher being – and realized that I thought it was just a lie. I felt that I could live my life as a good person without being chained in servitude to a higher power and have done so over the course of these many years since I made my decision. I drop money in donation boxes, I help people at the side of the road push their cars out of ditches, I return lost wallets and cell phones. Do I do it because a supernatural being tells me I should? No. I do it because I know that I would like to be treated the same way. It’s being kind and polite to other people, not coercion through scripture.

  4. I believed in God since my parents took me going to Catholic church. They teach about God in our daily life. I am not an atheist. But I like to build a relationship for any atheists. Sometimes an atheist is better than they who believe in God. It is really happenned in my neighbour.

  5. I became religious at 4 or 5 years old. I questioned my faith again at 12-13 and after a lot of debate and research decided to stick with it. I’m not a big fan of church, but I do believe in God, and I’m pretty satisfied with, although I’m hesitant to use the word “Christian,” I follow the gospels of Jesus.

    This is my first time reading your blog but hopefully not my last. You have lots of insight 🙂

  6. Por, we’re really nice people :P. Thanks for your input.

    Ruby, thank you, also :D.

    Thank you all, thank you all.

  7. I knew for sure that I was an atheist after reading the Lee Strobel rebuttals at caseagainstfaith.com

  8. I’ll check it out, chilling. Thank you.

  9. I new I was as atheist once I realized what one was. I also had to clarify my idea of knowledge vs. belief.

    Once I understood that because I did not belief in a god, that made me an atheist. It’s not a religion, doctrine, or “club” to join. If you can’t answer “yes” to the question “Do you believe in a god or gods?”, you’re an atheist.

    Once I got that, I began to speak out on YouTube and my blog and other social sites, and let others know what all this meant.

  10. Mad Man,

    I do not know I am an Atheist yet. I need to be bombarded with more Dawkins and Hitchens propaganda before I will fully by into the theory. The Hollywood Atheits and their moral pollution products may help me too.

    As a youngster, you have much to learn, but there is time. I only hope you live long enough to correct your spiritual path.

  11. I knew I was an atheist when I was 15. In fact, I announced it in a class, horrifying at least one girl (good times!).

    For a while I pretended otherwise, even earning an Eagle Scout award. Now I’m ashamed of the award. I should have stuck with my own ideals instead of faking my personality to fit someone else’s.

    I have heard, and found through personal experience, that we atheists are the most universally discriminated-against demographic; all races, ethnicities, and religions can find common ground in their mistrust and ignorance.

  12. Dogeatery,
    Atheism is the new gay and the new black. Although atheists now and a long time ago were and are hated. I guess they don’t like the fact that we could think for ourselves.

    Johnny,
    Correct what spiritual path? I don’t see me changing my views. I’ll never buy into the invisible man in the sky. You should read The God Delusion, it’s pretty interesting. I have yet to read End of Faith and God is not great.

    STA,
    Thank you for your input. I’ll be checking out your blog.

  13. Atheism and Agnosticism, although having different dictionary definitions, have come to mean the same thing to me. I consider myself an agnostic; I am not particularly religious but believe in natural forces greater than myself that govern how the universe works. Consequently, this makes human contrived religious practices and rituals generally irrelevant. The only difference is that I have a strong sense of my Jewish identity. Judaism and agnosticism are not mutually exclusive. Judaism, at least to me, is more of a scholarly tradition rather than a theological one and actually encourages scholarly debate about the nature of god or even the existence of god; as such heresy in Judaism is not frowned upon and has been the preoccupation of Rabbis and sages for centuries. This being said, I’ve increasingly found a greater rate of apostasy among individuals born and brought up Catholic or other forms of Christianity because of the greater degree of, what I observe to be, religious imposition by their respective faiths. It seems natural and human that the forces that impose the greatest stigmas will be faced with the higher rate of rebellion.

  14. I embarked on reading Professor Dawkin’s God Delusion with some trepidation because I was afraid that the content would be militantly atheist. Militant/fundamentalist atheism will breed equivalent brutality and suffering as militant religiosity and MUST be avoided. To my delight, I found the book intelligent, funny and very fair. I don’t find Dr. Dawkins to be a militant atheist more of a hippy agnostic who encourages a shift from traditional religious ritual and practices contrived by man (oh, and the male noun is not used haphazardly here) to a more naturalistic view of the “divine” where human understanding of the universe and its natural forces are our new pre-occupation in improving our way of life rather than prayer and fruitless ritual

  15. how awesome, i pretty much found out when i was around 14 years old too. and it only made me study religion even more. Once you learn to question theres no going back. all religions are flawed.

    btw. i got here through blogcatalog, im liveimagephoto

  16. Cool, I’ll check you out :P.
    Thanks for the comment.

  17. Ironically, I just posted my experience/opinion on this exact topic a couple of weeks ago in My Sunday Sermon: Modern Mythology. Although it began when I studied mythology in high school, it took me until recently to feel comfortable with the word atheist until recently (funny, a post where I talk about the derogatory connotation of the word, and my very first atheism post, The Morality of An Atheist? Yes.

    In fact, I still don’t tell most people (unprompted), because of the ridiculously biased perceptions about atheists.

  18. Hey lip, name me 3 flaws in Christianity please.

  19. Religion has lots of flaws. Christianity is not exempt.

  20. Again I’ll say, name me 3.

Leave a Reply

